Lamar County Chancery Court

403 Main Street
Purvis, MS 39475-5439

Picture & Directions

View Larger Map

History of Lamar County, Mississippi

Lamar county was formed April 1, 1904 from the second judicial district of Marion County and a small part of Hancock County, and the town of Purvis was made the county seat. Marion County was created from parts of Wayne, Franklin, and Amite Counties in 1811, and those counties were created from parts of Adams, Pickering, and Washington Counties, which were created in the Mississippi Territory in 1799 and 1800. Thus researchers will need to consult records from Marion County from 1811 until 1904, and from the other counties named for dates prior to 1811.

Besides Purvis, the small towns of Sumrall and Lumberton are located in the county. The much larger city of Hattiesburg, which is the seat of Forrest County, has grown across the county line into eastern Lamar County and that area is now the fastest growing area in the state.